Hey guys,

I wanted to know if it is possible to take 5 HLs instead of the 4 I have been taking for the past school year. Keep in mind that mocks are in less than a month. 

The class I want to bring up to HL is Economics, as I think the Paper 3 will benefit me a lot as I'm a very mathematically-inclined student. So far, Paper 1s have really been giving me trouble and all my classmates say Paper 3s are much easier than Paper 1s.

Thoughts?

These are my classes currently:

HL Math, HL Physics, HL Chem, HL Arabic B

SL English LAL, Economics

The thing is I can't. Arabic B HL is literally the only second language class that fits my schedule (and there's no SL only HL).

I have been considering dropping chemistry to SL but I don't want to do that because if I do I won't gain any college credits, and I really really do not want to take chemistry again in university.

I know it seems like death to have 5 HLs but that's not how I am thinking about it. On paper it may seem more difficult, but practically it will actually be easier for me.

6 hours ago, Lixter said:

5 HLs is really an overkill

How do you think universities will view it?

The Diploma Programme only allows exactly 3-4 HLs and the remaining at SL. You have an option to take a seventh subject, but I only have talked to those taking 3HL 3SL and 1 HL additional, not anyone taking 4HL 2SL and 1 HL additional (let alone taking up an SL in just year 2). 

The obvious solution to doing poorly on economics paper 1 is to do more practice problems of paper 1, read sample responses, and ask questions when you are unsure. I advise against any strategy to just take a loss at any assessment then try to overcompensate on another assessment.