IB HL course

I'm a student who's taking Physics HL.(11th-grade 1st year of IB)

So far, I had 4 unit tests that I have taken and got the grade on it. My test scores are not stable. First unit test, 6, second unit test, 2, third unit test, 7, fourth unit test 3. 

I was really depressed when I got the last test which is 3, and my parents weren't happy at all. They are considering me to quit IB because I got 2 two grades that are lower than 3, and they said that I failed IB. For the last test, I also understand that I couldn't get enough time to study or I didn't study enough. Because I was sick for 1 week, and I didn't have free day 2 days before the test, and I only have one day to study(I started studying a week ago) Also, my sister is really smart and she gets really good grades so my parents think that all people are like my sister in term of how smart you are.

The question is if it true that if I get 2 grades that are lower than 3 in HL, do I fail the IBDP? and even if it not fail, am I able to catch up the grade if I keep getting a good grade from now?

Hi man,

Cheer up! It is not the end of the world to get 2 grades lower than 3 in HL. I once got a 4 in Geography and I am alive and well. From what I know, only when you get a score of 1 in a single subject will you fail ib.

I am a Physics HL student as well (12th grade), and I would say that physics HL is not difficult if you have a good teacher and you understand all the concepts involved. Practice a lot before exams can help as well! In this way, you can definitely get higher scores!

Hope you can be well in your exams!

• 1 month later...

Hey!