Chemistry II

Hi there,
I am a grade 11 IB student in SL Chemistry. I will be starting my II (Internal Investigation) soon and I was wondering if this would be a good topic: determining the content of sugar in different fruits using redox titration. Specifically, glucose and fructose, as I have read that the safest fruits are those that are high in glucose and low in fructose. Do you think this would be feasible? Should I just determine glucose? Any suggestions for improvement or a completely different idea?

I would like to do my project on titration specifically as our two options are titration or calorimetry and I am not very confident in the latter. 
Thanks!

I think the important thing about the IA is the investigative aspect. Obviously, your idea has enough chemistry methods and methodology (performing a titration is enough, but you have to explain all your steps like why you use a certain acid or base etc.), but based on how you've described it, where it could fall short on is "why something happens". I think you may need to think a lot about why certain fruits have high contents of glucose/fructose, relating to chemistry (probably a biochemistry topic, which is completely valid; my IA was also geared towards biochem), or massage your question so that it is more of an "exploration" rather than just a straightforward experiment.

• Like 1

On 1/14/2019 at 12:09 AM, Jaysun said: