Regular Academic Math vs Accelerated Math

Person101

Hello, I am an 8th grade student who has recently been accepted into the Pre-IBDP program. I will go to Colonel By Secondary School in Ottawa next year. So we don't have a lot of course choices next year. For math, however, I can choose either MPM1DE (which is the accelerated pre-ib math course that leads to either HL or SL Math in grade 11) or MPM1D (which is the regular academic course in math which leads to SL Applications & Interpretation Math in grade 11). I want to be able to take HL Math in grade 11, but I hear it is an advanced course that consists of two years while SL Applications & Interpretation Math take only one year. Can you give me an explanation of HL Further Math and SL Applications and Interpretation Math to help make my decisions easier? Also, as a future IB student, can you IB graduates or students give me tips on how can I have a smooth start of IB and how can I prepare? Thank you!

There is no longer any HL Further Math, or even HL Math. The new courses are HL/SL Applications and Interpretations and HL/SL Analysis and Approaches. A/I is stats focused and A/A is functions/calculus focused. There is significant modelling in both, and both courses share about 25% of the same content. If you are thinking of going into engineering, sciences, economics, computer science, then you probably need A/A; otherwise you can take either one.