How do you study a year's worth of language in two months?

My Chinese teacher has permitted me to study a year of Chinese over the summer, and this will put me into IB Chinese B SL. The course progression of foreign languages goes like this: freshman year -- Chinese 100, sophomore year -- Chinese 200, junior year -- IB Chinese B SL (300), and senior year -- IB Chinese B SL (400), and then we take the IB Chinese B SL test in our senior year. Since I will be studying over the summer, I will be taking IB Chinese B SL a year earlier and have the chance to study IB Chinese B HL (500) if I find myself truly loving the subject and language. I learn languages fast, but I have never done it in two months before.

However, I am not a native speaker of Mandarin, and therefore, I will naturally struggle with studying Chinese. Are there any studying techniques available specifically to retain what I study over the summer?

On 6/2/2019 at 1:02 AM, yummymangosdigested said:

My Chinese teacher has permitted me to study a year of Chinese over the summer, and this will put me into IB Chinese B SL. The course progression of foreign languages goes like this: freshman year -- Chinese 100, sophomore year -- Chinese 200, junior year -- IB Chinese B SL (300), and senior year -- IB Chinese B SL (400), and then we take the IB Chinese B SL test in our senior year. Since I will be studying over the summer, I will be taking IB Chinese B SL a year earlier and have the chance to study IB Chinese B HL (500) if I find myself truly loving the subject and language. I learn languages fast, but I have never done it in two months before.

However, I am not a native speaker of Mandarin, and therefore, I will naturally struggle with studying Chinese. Are there any studying techniques available specifically to retain what I study over the summer?

Hi,