Choosing between Chem sl and Bio sl

Ina34567

Hi all! I am currently a pre-IB student, but I was notified yesterday that I have to submit my preference for either bio SL or chem SL for next year's diploma program. I'm having difficultly choosing between the two because I don't know much concrete information about either program. I, for sure, plan on majoring in something pertaining to STEM later on (specifically, I have been interested in biomedical engineering). The chem SL program focuses heavily on medicinal chemistry, whereas bio SL focuses most on ecology in my school.

It's difficult for me to define myself as a more "math-sy" person or one who likes memorizing more in science because I don't have a preference. In essence, I would be willing to learn anything needed and find myself comfortable with both learning styles. Considering my career choice and anything that you guys have taken away from either course, any advice?

If you're interested in Biomedical engineering I would think you should be aiming to do at least one of those subjects or probably both at HL rather than SL! I guess Chemistry would probably be more useful for Biomed but you could make a case for either. The medicinal chemistry versus ecology thing sounds like it's just referring to the options you take - the long and short of it is that if you find a different option more interesting, you can just teach it to yourself from the textbook, so if you're not interested in ecology you can pick a different one.

Is there a reason you're not thinking of taking them as HL subjects?

• Like 1

3 hours ago, Sandwich said: