The IB & US universities.

baecusman

Ok, so I'm kind of a noob here, so if I mess up, please dont ban me or anything. (cause there are forums where if you make 1 mistake, you're out) Anyways, I just wanted to know how the IB is seen by schools in the states, especially compared to the AP. My school offers both, and before I joined the IB, I fired off some emails asking the age-old IB vs AP question. All of my replies were ambiguous and not very helpful. However, I recently attended a presentation by stanford where the woman talking about Stanford said that if the IB is offered at your school, it is expected that you take it. Why didn't they just come out and say that from the start, and more importantly, if they like the IB, why are top schools so "harsh" when it comes to dolling out IB credit; many top level universities will only accept a 6 or a 7 from a higher level course, if that. Thanks.

• 2 weeks later...

Hey, sorry nobody's replied to this thread yet. And don't worry; we're not gonna kick you out just for asking a question. :wub:

It's a tough one, because only the universities themselves can really provide answers. As far as I know, IB doesn't give you any particular advantage when applying to US universities. I think it makes it slightly easier to get in if you're coming from overseas, but otherwise they don't really care which system you came through. As far as getting good marks goes, it's probably to be expected that top universities want you to get a near perfect score. They get thousands and thousands of kids applying every year, so their selection process has to be pretty strict.

The only answer I can really give is that nobody knows for sure. They can't really come out and say that they prefer the IB, because that could cause some backlash from other systems. Sorry for providing more ambiguous answers. :P