Chemistry SL vs. Physics SL

DLibrary

Hello, I’m a student currently in IB Diploma grade 11, and I’m writing this to come up with a good decision. I hope your advice might help.

It has been around one month from the start of grade 11, and my subject for group 4 is Chemistry SL. However, I’m thinking of switching it to Physics SL. Physics students are now at the end of Chapter 1 (Measurement and Uncertainties), and they’ve already done some test. If I move class, I think I should take those test within one week(not sure tho, just guess).

I don’t have a big problem with chemistry, but as you know, there is a lot of memorization compared to physics. So if I choose physics and understand it well, I would be able to reduce my time in memorizing and distribute some time to BM HL, which is quite a lot memorizing stuff.

My interest (in those subjects) is somehow similar. But I don’t really like building circuit (calculating electricity is ok).

For the teacher, I’m not experiencing any issues with Chem teacher, and I don’t think there’s a problem with Physics teacher as well, so that won’t be a big problem for now.

The biggest reason why I’m attracted to Physics is the grade boundary. In 2019-20, grade boundary for 7 in Chem SL is around 80, but for Physics is 65. The gap is quite large.

However, IB Physics is notorious for being difficult. That’s what makes me hesitate.

I was in IGCSE until grade 9 and moved to IB in grade 10. In IGCSE, I have done Chemistry much more than Physics. However, Physics score was slightly higher than Chemistry.

In grade 10, I didn’t have a problem understanding concept in both Chem and Physics.

In Semester 2 exam for grade 10, I get 7/8 for Chemistry and 8/8 for Physics.

But I heard the gap between grade 10 physics and IB Physics is much more significant compared to Chemistry. Is it true?

For math, I scored 6/7 in math extended class in grade 10. I’m taking MAA SL now.