EE: Are novels published in Europe or USA more recognized?

Carlos Microft

This is my research so far:

I studied the winners of the 15 most recognized Literature Prizes around the world. I found just four of them give awards to works written in a different language than the one of the country which hosts the prize (I didn´t include Nobel, I just picked locally organized prizes).

Thus, as there are more resources to publish and remunerate the winners of prizes awarded by Europe or North America, the prizes given to American or Asian writers in their country are not enough to give them an international projection. The prizes given to American or Asian writers outside their country only happen after the authors are sold worldwide, and this usually happens not because the authors have won prizes but because they have good managers and editors for translation to English.

I focus in the Hispanic and English worlds. Perhaps particularly in Britain and Mexico. England has one of the two prizes by developed countries to recognize foreign authors. Mexico has one of the two prizes by not-so-developed countries to recognize foreign authors. The difference between both cases is that the British prize has only been awarded to authors published and sold around the world, while the Mexican one has been awarded to local authors (I have cases from France and Germany) because some of the judges are people in contact with the literary circles of those countries.

I´m not saying Mexico is an example for the world. Actually, I have some National Surveys from England and Mexico which prove that ironically Mexicans only read books that are sold worldwide and don´t read the ones written in their own country nor in Latin America.