Advice on Course Selections?

Addy

Before reading on... let me first say, I'm an extremely confused student at this point.

First off, I've always been really interested in writing, and have always considered it as a dream career. Problem is... the chances of becoming a successful writer and basing your life off of it are extremely slim. That said, I need another field to go into as a source of stable income in the future. (especially since IB is not particularly geared towards the arts, and literature)
So a few weeks ago when we had course selections, I decided that business would be a good field. Not because I'm really that interested in it, but because I'm pretty decent at Math, and at the time, I didn't want to go into a stereotypical field like medicine or engineering.
Then I started thinking more about this, and while I've always enjoyed psychology and the whole idea of becoming a psychologist, that too, like writing, was more of a "dream".

Recently I've started wondering if it's possible for me to leave some doors open in the medical field, because psychiatry does seem feasible. The only thing is.. is it a practical career? Any advice?

So far, the courses I've selected are:
HL English (mandatory at my school)
HL French
HL History (related to literature and business.. somewhat?)
HL Math (business/economics)

SL Economics
SL Chemistry

I'm now considering taking a science in HL, and dropping either History or Math to SL. I'm keeping French as a 4th HL because I'm good at it and it seems like a pretty easy mark. ..and I'm hoping it'll look good on uni applications. I'm hoping to get into a university in the States, and it's insanely competitive so.. yep.

I've rambled long enough.. some advice from fellow IBMYP/Pre-IBers and veterans please?

Any help would be really, really appreciated.

I would have to note that you seem extremely unsure of things. Which is normal and always the right state of mind you should have at this point ^_^