First year of Eco

Hello!

As i mentioned before, im starting my IB course this september and ive got loads of questions.

But the top one right now, is that i chose Eco as one of my HL subjects. and the thing is, i ddnt take Eco b4 in my previous years.

I asked the eco teacher in skool and he said that it shudnt be a prob if im starting it in IB. but the IG guys (who took eco for 2 years) say that i wont survive the class since i dont have any background...

soo.. my questions is: WHAT SHUD I DO!? im soo clueless right now and i alrdy handed in my application

plz help! Thanks! :P

Don't worry about it.

Econ HL was in its pilot year when I took it. My econ teachers had no idea what was on the syllabus, what IAs were, when they were due etc. My classmates and I pretty much self taught ourselves econ from the course companion. I had never taken econ before in my life either and I still ended up with a 7 lol.

Definitely don't need a background in econ to do well in econ HL.

I take econ HL, and I had absolutely no background or understanding in it at all when I started. I just needed another higher level. I had no problem though, the first unit done is called 'intro to economics' and basically starts you off very, very simple and sets a foundation. Of course, having any previous background in economics is beneficial but by no means is it necessary. I'm sure you'll do fine :P I haven't found it difficult, just a lot of new concepts to learn.

The IB course is designed for 2 years, and no one is expected to have prior knowledge. Very few schools offer Economics before IB/A-level years. If those people told you that you won't survive the class, maybe it's just because they were stupid, didn't learn anything, and didn't survive the class themselves.