Self taught Japanese?

So this isn't completely IB, but I took IB Japanese Ab Initio and well ... I totally sucked. I only got a 3, but that's not what I really care about at the moment. I just want to learn the language on my own now. So I was wondering if anyone had any tips, or advice on how to do this. Apparently the way i was studying the language before didn't stick. I tend to always go back to translating everything in my head back to English and then having to translate it back to Japanese before actually saying it.

So really I think I need suggestions on how to approach learning it, and maybe some books or CDs titles that may help out with that too. Thank you ahead of time (:

This should be an interesting thread XD I recently started self teaching myself about 2 weeks ago so I'm probably at a way lower level than you. Just including what I'm doing or what I plan to do just in case someone is interested in starting off...