To continue or to drop IB?

Lauis

So as of now the summer is dwindling down and I have a big decision to make, to stay in IB or to drop out and go to regular high school? I've finished the first year of IB and now I'm about to begin the second year.

Throughout my junior year, my grades suffered a bit. Though I was able to keep a steady A in Math Analysis, Psychology, and Spanish, I got C's in AP US History and AP Biology. (And B's in my other classes.) To top it off, I only got 2's on AP US and AP Bio and a 1 in AP Spanish, which made me worry about the IB exams in those subjects. I'm also worried about English since I didn't do too hot on my IA last semester and I'm not very good at literary analysis.

In college I plan to major in Music and Theatre and I'm not sure how much IB will help me anymore than getting core classes out of the way. Plus, with my doubts of getting the diploma or passing the exams, I'm not sure if staying in IB is worth the extra work when I want to focus on music and theatre.

Opinions and advice on whether or not I should continue would be very helpful before I ultimately contact my guidance counselor.

To be honest, some of your grade problems may be because of the way your school teach IB. IB should not be taught in AP classes! They are not in any way the same as AP except the public exam part. It doesn't prepare you for the IB.

[i just went and typed up a huge chunk about how hard it is to get a 1 in IB (almost impossible if you actually try something) but you're talking about AP 1.]