UK Universities

pinkpen

Heyy everyone,

I'm applying to the UK, but I'm very confused: I've been following the UCAS registration, but I don't understand the system.

I'm an international student, taking IB (of course) and I graduate in 2010.

So in the UK system, do i have to choose specific courses from different universities?

I've researched a few universities that I would like to study at, so are you not supposed to apply only to one university? (As they do it in America etc..)

And if you can, how do you do it? Because UCAS only guides you through choosing 5 courses from various colleges?

I basically want to know how the system works.

If anyone who understands how to apply to the UK, i would really appreciate some help!

Thanks a lot

I'll break this down question by question:

So in the UK system, do i have to choose specific courses from different universities?

Yes, in the UK system you have to choose what you want to study, no liberal arts type schools are available. This is good if you know what you want to study, no switching allowed.

I've researched a few universities that I would like to study at, so are you not supposed to apply only to one university? (As they do it in America etc..)

You apply to a maximum of five courses, they could all be from the same university but this isn't recommended. Plus, all the courses you choose should be studying the same thing, i.e. medicine, civil engineering.

This set up is slightly different for medicine.

(BTW: In this US people apply to more than one university too)

And if you can, how do you do it? Because UCAS only guides you through choosing 5 courses from various colleges?