US Common App and Applying

emmak

Hello... I've decided to apply to some colleges in the US as well as the UK, but I'm having some snafoos with the Common App.

Question 1.) The questions are simple enough, but the problems come with the Secondary School section. You see, I graduated from high school in the US in 3 years, which means I have a GPA, class rank, ACT scores, etc. And now, I'm starting my last year of IB in Finland, meaning that I have two different secondary schools that I could put on the list. The section says "School You Now Attend (or school you graduated from)". But I'm assuming that this applies to people who have taken a skip year(s) but are still applying as freshmen. So according to the question, I should put my Finnish school and IB classes... but I won't have scores to report for any of those classes until July of next year. So my question is: should I submit details of my US high school or my current Finnish high school??? Whichever one I don't submit for the Secondary School section will go in the other details box. Any thoughts? I would ask my IB Coordinator but he's clueless when it comes to the US.

Question 2.) Early decision, early action, or regular? I plan on applying to Brown, which definitely looks to be my first choice. Since I AM an international student, I would appreciate getting a decision in December so that the visa, health insurance, dorms, classes, etc. can all be planned. Is early decision a good choice? Any pros/cons? I've seen that there's a slightly higher chance of getting accepted under early decision than regular... so when applying to an Ivy school this couldn't hurt, right?! Thoughts/comments?!

Thanks for the help guys! :D Early decision deadlines are Nov. 1 so I'm trying to get my thoughts all sorted before school starts this Monday and then I need to start the whole process!