IB Calculus vs UK uni calculus -Urgent!

Justice

I'm an IB graduate -may 2009

I am going to uk in 2 weeks to study chemical engineering.

I took 6 at math SL - i took a full score at my 2 -portfolios !!

I heard that the calculus courses that 1st year students take in UK universities are extremely HARD even to ex-IB math HL students, and many even find it hard to pass, so they end up trying to catch up over the holidays and summer.

cuz the IB sylluabus is very narrow when it comes to calculs when compared to other programmes like the A-levels.

I am not worried about coping with the pressure, but i'm scared that my foundation wont help me and i'll have to struggle allot throught my 1st year.

So is it ture that IB students are unprepared when it comes down to calculs, and how hard are the UK ui courses???

Well I did IB SL alongside people doing AS and A2 Level Maths and I'd say that there's not too big a gap between them. Mostly it seemed that the A2 Level people did a lot more mechanics than we did (I don't seem to recall we did any mechanics) but I didn't notice a huge gap in terms of calculus. Perhaps for those people who take Maths and also Further Maths A Level they might do considerably more, but even Maths + Further Maths combined aren't meant to be as hard as HL Maths.