Choosing Your Sixth Subject

elmar

I know it's quite early to be deciding specific subject areas, as I am in my second year of pre-IB and sophomore year of high school. However, I am curious as to what courses seem most popular for the sixth subject?

I was planning on taking Visual Art (not sure as to whether take SL or HL, because HL eliminates two of my four electives for senior year) or Social Anthropology (I plan to go into psychology). I believe my school offers the previously mentioned, as well as Music and Physics.

I'm not really too sure which ones are the most popular, but I know at my school, out of the group 6 subjects, Music and Visual Art are the most popular. I think, when choosing your subjects, if you are sure about your career path, choose subjects which will help you achieve that career, and if you aren't sure, pick general kind of subjects that will help you get into a variety of courses.

When deciding whether to take a subject as HL or SL, maybe have a chat to your teachers and see if there's a large difference between HL and SL, and go from there. As with Theatre, there isn't a huge difference between the two, and the amount of work you have to put into it, it's worth taking as a HL.

Also, choose a subject based on whether you'll enjoy it or not! Or else you'll regret it bigtime! It makes the IB a bit more enjoyable if the subjects are ones you feel passionate about ;)

I hope this helped :P