Sign in to follow this  

Psychology EE on Animal-Assisted Therapy

Hey everyone. I'm pretty new to IBSurvival.

I'm doing my EE on the subject of psychology, and this is the question I came up with so far: "To what extend is Animal-Assisted Therapy effective?" I don't think that's the best topic, so I was hoping to get some help on how I can narrow it down. My advisor keeps telling me that my question will develop as I research. I just don't want to pick a bad topic, letting it snowball through and end up not getting a good grade.

AAT is defined as a type of therapy where an animal is incorporated to become a fundamental part of a person's treatment. It's used in a lot of aspects, the elderly, children with disabilities etc.

One thing I was wondering was if I should do it specifically on one aspect, like the elderly, but I'm afraid I might not be able to write enough on just use of AAT with the elderly.

Any suggestions? My soul is seriously dying over here because of this EE

Well I think there's a lot to be said for what your advisor said. I spent ages agonising over my question - then I did my research and suddenly found I could frame my question around that :)

All your problems with whether you ought to focus it more, which bits you ought to explore etc. should solve themselves as you research it and come up with the substance of your essay - you'll want to make the most of good articles, statistics and explanations and you'll only know how much material there is available as and when you discover it. You may even end up targeting in on a specific animal as well as a specific group of people (my guess is that there's enough research in this area to end up doing that).