Mathematics HL Crash Course?

Cognac

Hi!

I've got the following problem: I do Mathematics Studies SL (I actually was on Standard for the first IB year, but because of bad results I went on Studies - I did not Standard so I was not quite motivated - and I do regret this laziness of mine). However, things changed and I am now keen on going to LSE or some other university with courses that focus on economics and political philosophy or sociology. The problem is that they are really not likely to take me with Mathematics at Studies. My question is:

Is there ANY way to have a Mathematics HL 'crash course' or any equivalent? (A levels, anything...)

I am not really keen on spending two years just for the Mathematics HL (it seems I'll do fine in my current subjects), so I wondered whether there was a possibility of some kind of semi (because of the portfolio) self-taught course that I could do in half a year on so (provided it is the only thing I do)? I'll take a gap-year so it would be really good to have something like that for that time (and I do not lack the abilities for that course when sufficiently motivated).

Or, maybe there just is a self-taught Mathematics HL course?

I'd be really grateful...

Edited by Cognac

Needless to say, and you probably know already, LSE does not accept any students with Maths Studies and they take SL Maths only for non-Maths courses such as Geography or something. Don't expect to get into Economics without Maths HL.

Secondly, if you were unable to do Maths SL and dropped to Studies (which was with the help of teachers and whatnot), what chance have you got of self studying Maths HL and getting a decent grade to get into LSE? Bear in mind that Economics is one of the most oversubscribed courses in LSE and you'd need a 7 or at the very least a 6 to stand a chance at getting in.