Exam Preparation Ideas

IB SURVIVOR

Guyz am a MAY 2010 IB student , I would like to hear from you guys about the following

1. how do you prepare for your school mathematics tests ?

2. Which Mathematics Book do you use ? --- I am a Math SL student so are using the Maths SL for IB Diploma Book

3. Any supplement items such as study guides that u find useful ?

4. Any techniques that you find boosting math's scores ?

uhhh listen in class and i've started doing at least 1 past paper every week now that finals are just round the corner

don't leave prep till the last minute, math is probably the only subject you CAN'T cram for

2. Which Mathematics Book do you use ?

i'm SL as well and i use HL & SL versions of 'Mathematics for the international student' from Haese & Harris Publications

SL tends you give you more examples/questions but HL questions are sometimes harder

3. Any supplement items such as study guides that u find useful ?

i haven't heard of a study guide for math but i use questionbanks

they're extremely useful when i just want to practice a certain section of the syllabus as opposed to digging through past papers to find particular questions

4. Any techniques that you find boosting math's scores ?

try hard to get good marks on your ia's (my aim was to get an average of 17 for both Type I and II - and i got it :P hope it doesn't get moderated down)

in general practice practice practice

there's no use just knowing the rules of you don't know how to use it

oh and figure out what rules are in the data booklet and which ones aint

eg. i use the HL rule to figure out nCr which obviously isn't in the data booklet

lastly, use a stopwatch when you do q's to give you some kinda idea of how much practice you need to do

good luck :)