Extended Essay in Music?

iotabebraindead

Hello, I am a junior currently in DP in South Texas. Last year, I discovered that the IBO offered IB Music as a course.

When I found the 40-page IB Music syllabus online, I was very intrigued by what the course offered, naturally, since I am a music student. From what I've read from multiple syllabuses online, a Musical Investigation is required by IB for both HL and SL students. I was really interested in the MI, and I actually want to do one myself, and also even begin a portfolio of my own compositions - since I plan to major in music at university.

Questions:

Do you think a Musical Investigation wuuld be a good start to do an Extended Essay in Music? I'm very much interested in doing my EE in Music, and since I found out about IB Music and the MI, I was wondering if it would be beneficial for a student to use their MI as the basis for their EE, and if, in your opinion (if you are in Music SL/HL), it would be a good idea for me to perhaps do an MI of my own (even if our campus does not have an IB music teacher) to get me started on the topic for my Extended Essay.

----------------

OR if that is a stupid question because now it seems to me that that would take a ****load of work, here's a new question:

Would it be wise to do the EE in music even if there isn't an IB Music teacher/class (but my choir teachers might be able to help)?

I can't help you about the EE because I have no idea, but I can direct you to the EE guide which might clear some things up.

http://www.ibsurvival.com/index.php?app=downloads&showfile=109

In my school, you can take IB music as long as you're in band [either marching or jazz, I think] or choir for both of your IB years. The students just have to do a lottt of work like end of 1st semester/beginning of 2nd semester.