Self-Taught Language Experiences?

apricot

Hey,

I'm having a bit of trouble deciding my 6th subject in the IB. I'm more language-orientated, but my school's offer for languages is pretty pathetic. I'm thinking that a possibility could be a self-taught language, like French or my other mother tounge that my school doesn't offer. HOWEVER my organisation skills are not that good and I'm really afraid that I find myself not studying the self-taught language at all...!! :P (I'm already worrying about how I'll organise the studying of the other five subjects that I'll study...) Anyway, has anyone got any experience/advice about this?? Would be much appreciated!! :)

Edited by apricot

Ok basically you didn't start IB, so I am giving you an advice.

Before IB, we all think we are able to handle such a thing, self taught language, no matter how much previous IBers tell us its impossible.

You have to seriously bare in mind that you are going to have way too much work to be able to handle a self taught subject, let alone a language.

I was considering to do French on my own, but right now I am more grateful than ever that I didnt. I took the subjects I liked with supportive teachers (except ITGS) and yet I would never waant to imagine how I would have been with a self taught language.

So I personally dont advise you.

Take another science, or one of the human sciences like ITGS, business..etc. Think about what you want to do in uni. Unless you are going for a language degree, I dont see taking a self taught language is going to bring you anything apart from unneccesary stress.

This is my opinion. :P