HL Economics OR HL Chemistry?

Jennasaurus

Hello everyone!

I'm currently a student in first year IB (in grade 11 with 2 years of pre-IB), taking both economics and chemistry (required & chosen for us).

For next year, we have a choice of taking either HL Economics or HL Chemistry. If I choose HL Economics, then I have take SL Chemistry. However, if I take HL Chemistry, I can no longer continue with any economics course.

Even though economics is generally an easier course therefore a higher chance of achieving a 7, I chose chemistry because to get accepted into areas of science in universities, chemistry is required. Even if you're looking into business or economies in universities, there is no prerequisite of an economics credit (from what I heard). I was fine with my choice because writing, analyzing and explaining stuff has never been my strong skill, and there is a lot of that involved in economics. But I'm starting to realize that chemistry is not my strongest subject either, and I'm doing terrible in it, and it is not even higher-level yet!

So my question is, is it better to take HL Economics and get that 7, or HL Chemistry which is the harder path but will probably be more useful in university.

Thanks for your time!

-Jen

Edited by Jennasaurus

I was doing both HL Economics and HL Chemistry, but I have recently switched to HL Biology and SL Chemistry. My teachers encouraged me to make the switch so my best advice would be to ask them because they know a lot about the IB course and your capabilities.

Looking at your situation from the outside, I would recommend switching to SL Chem and HL Economics because it a) opens more doors for you because you have more courses, especially if Economics boosts your marks as you are expecting and b) lots of universities look at your overall IB mark so that might be important.