French A2 self-taught?

Hey guys!

I have a bit of a problem. I'm going into IB next year and it has come time to select IB courses. Unfortunately, the only second language course that my school offers is French B SL. I have studied French for a lot longer than my classmates (10 years) and I am almost fluent in it, so I find French class at school to be boring because I already know what's being taught. So, I'm considering doing French A2 SL self taught. Would this be a good idea, given my situation? I have never self-studied a subject before either.

I think you should go for French A2 self-taught, to be honest A2 languages are not that hard I wish my school offered Italian A2 :) You need have a look at the syllabus choose your books for study and topics for the language component of it. I'm sure you can find a french teacher who can help you with it. If you want I can ask the French A2 class and my self-taught teacher who happens to be french and teach A2. Are you from Quebec by the way? :D

Thanks! I'm not sure if my school will approve it though, because I would be the first in my school to self-study French. I know that someone did Further Math by themselves though, so maybe I have a good chance. I'll have to stay motivated though, and not slack off :D

Haha lol it would be awesome to be from Quebec, but I'm from Ontario :)

I love the idea that Canada is bilingual. Anyway you should really go ahead with and state the reasons why. Like say you'd really enjoy it and it'd allow you to have a qualification adapted to your level of French. I could help you with french a bit if you want.

I like the fact that Canada is bilingual as well :) I'll go talk to the IB coordinator tomorrow about it, as it seems like a good idea. I hear that if you do a language A2, you get a bilingual diploma. Is this true? Btw, how are you finding French A1 right now, out of curiosity?

Thanks for all your advice! Now I know who to ask for French help :D