14 members have voted

1. 1. Farsi or Arabic?

• Farsi
    • Arabic
  2. 2. Spanish or Portuguese?

• Spanish
    • Portuguese

Hi guys,

Well, I'm gonna apply at French unis to start studying foreign languages in September

Now I just need to decide WHICH languages to take.

There's first the choice between Farsi and Arabic to make... here a few considerations...

• My mother's husband is from Iran which might be helpful (and also, I could then understand his parents who are visiting us every year and who can't speak any other languages)
  • Arabic is spoken by more people than Farsi!
  • However, Arabic is more difficult!?
  • I read somewhere that the only "reason" to study Arabic is to read the Qur'an.

... and other ideas?

What do you think I should do?

Also, i might not be able to study Spanish, which I'd like to, coz I'm a beginner. But I could study Portuguese . What's the main difference btw those languages? Which one is harder/easier? Would Portuguese be useful?

Edited by bLub

Ok, about Arabic and Farsi, I would go for Arabic as it's a widely spoken language in the region unlike farsi which is only spoken by a few countries. I have no idea about Farsi but Arabic can get difficult if you don't have the right teacher, other than that, I find that Farsi looks so similar to arabic only with some hard-to-write letters. And no, arabic is not only learnt to read Quran, besides the fact that it is the language of the Quran, arabic is learnt simply because people find it interesting sometimes, and I am not only saying this because I am arab. :)

Spanish vs. Prtugese, I have got NO idea what the difference between the 2 is, but I ADORE SPANISH, the first thing I am doing when I graduate is learn spanish! :P

Oh, and it happened to be that some spanish words are the same as the arabic ones. :D