Paper 3 revision

ephika

The amount of material that one has to revise for the Paper 3 exams is just crazy, especially if you're aiming for a grade above 5. My teacher chose the History of the Americas for Paper 3, and there is so much stuff one has to learn, everything from the domestic policies of Canada to populist leaders in South America, etc. This has made me unsure of how I should revise for the exams. Any advice?

Last year, I was so worried about Paper 3 because I really felt like it would make me or break me (it didn't).

The hardest part for me was deciding what I wanted to write about for Paper 3. I started by collecting all the old paper three exams I could find, printed them out, and physically sorted each question based on it's corresponding topic area from the syllabus. Before the changed the syllabus, there were 22 topics. I picked the 7 topics that seemed to show up the most frequently and whose information could be used on other papers of the exam. I studied US foreign policy in Latin America (1898-1945), The Great Depression, Latin American foreign policy (1945-1995), Political and economic developments in the US after WWII, US foreign policy (1945-1995), Political and economic developments in Latin America after the Second World War, and Hemispheric relations (1945-1995). Basically, I picked anything that was related to the Cold War (because a strong background there would be helpful on Paper 2 as well and it's interesting), The Great Depression (because it was pretty much guaranteed that there would be at least a question or two about it on the exam), and US Foreign Policy in Latin America from 1898-1945 (because most of the topics here were recurring and they directly set the stage for later events ie:Monroe Doctrine, Good Neighbor Policy, and establishment of spheres of influence).