7 in maths sl

givenchy

Hey Guys,

i'm currently taking maths sl and i have also considered switching to math studies ( i am bit lazy ) but then after many people told me that it does not look good on your college application i decided to stick to math sl.

Now my question how do i get a 7 in math sl ? I mean is it hard to get a 7 in it ? Will i be able to get a 7 when doing tons of past papers, or will it be just a good 6 ?

Who got a 7 and how did you study for it ?

Thanks!

• Like 1

I got a seven. I studied a lot.

- You have to have good scores on the coursework assignments. I found them very tricky, but I did quite well on them in the end.

- You have to understand the material. Make sure you know all the topics; go back and revise them frequently (like before every class test).

- You also have to know how to tackle the papers. Do lots of past papers! You should be aware of how much you need to write for each kind of question (short vs. long ones), and how much of your calculations you need to write out (most!). You should also be very familiar with the time allowed; never give yourself more than 1h30 to complete a paper (I'm almost certain that's the time limit... all these rules seem so obscure as soon as you're done with the IB!). Also make sure to not only do the past papers, but also go back with a mark scheme and see where you went wrong and what you need to go over again. You should aim to have enough time to go back over the exam after you're done as well; it may be good to skip questions you don't get so that you can get as many marks as possible on the rest. Then you're more likely to have enough time to go over those hard questions again and understand them better.