History Teacher...not the best.

Chocaholic

Hello!

I'm currently a pre-ib student going into IB this September. I hear that I'm going to have a horrible History SL teacher and I was wondering how this will affect my IB experience. Should I reconsider going into IB or possibly drop out if he actually is a horrble teacher? I'm just afraid that one class with really bring down my marks as I have slight difficulties with history.

Thank youu!

Hmm well there are a few things to keep in mind.

You're going to encounter bad teachers at some point in your life. You can't always escape them.

Will you let this one teacher deter you from taking IB? Do you really want to do IB? [if you don't, that's totally okay. Just find out how important it is to you and if you have the determination right now =)]

How many people told you that the teacher was horrible? Do you think it might just be that time of the year when students are stressed? How accurate/whole a depiction do you think you have of this teacher? Maybe you can talk to more people or ask specific questions if you're not sure.

And do you like preIB so far? Do you like some of the people who are planning on starting IB next year? I think the other students help keep you sane, so they might just be more important than the teachers, on the norm. ;)

Can you tell me more about your view on IB and how your experience has been so far? I don't think one teacher should be able to influence such a decision. It's really a lot of other factors mixed in. =)

I love preIB it's excellent and I think I really am going to like IB, I just don't know how that one course will affect my overall experience. Almost all of the other students that are in IBDP now say that the teacher is horrible. He doesn't teach the proper material is how they phrase it, and the material that he does get to is not taught well. They also say he never gives any tests. That ends up to be a big mess by the time exams come.