My Parents Don't Agree With My University Choice

ABC123456

I'm currently a student in Florida, USA and am planning on staying in-state for college since it is a lot cheaper. I was choosing between University of Florida and University of Central Florida. I have been accepted into the Honors program at UCF and have also decided to go there. My parents don't like this choice, however, because everyone tells them that UF has more name recognition and prestige than UCF, and thus is a better choice. To me, I feel like if I tried hard enough I could get far in life even if I went to a lower ranked school. Does ranking mean everything, really? What annoys me is that they keep saying, "well it's your choice, we'll go through with whatever choice you make", yet now after I have accepted the admission, paid deposit, and everything, they still bring up this topic. Their point is that I am too err.. "deterministic"? (I am not sure what word to use), that I stick to my own opinions and do not listen to others, especially "adults who know more than me". It makes me upset that my parents aren't fully supporting me to going to a place I will spend my next 4 years of education at.

From what I've heard, UF is a HUGE party school. UCF is too, just by virtue of being huge and a state school, but less so.

I think the word you're looking for is "determined," perhaps "stubborn."

Tell your parents that if it means that much to them, you'll look into/try for UF for grad school or something, but as of right now in three months you'll be a Knight, not a Gator, and they've just got to learn to deal with it. Your absolute best bet would just be to get out of the Florida educational system entirely, really. A degree with honors is one of the few ways to break the "educated in Florida" stigma.

• Like 2

From what I've heard, UF is a HUGE party school. UCF is too, just by virtue of being huge and a state school, but less so.